# American Fork Jr. High School Community Council

# Meeting Minutes

# September 2, 2016

(7:00 am – AFJH Conference Room)

MINUTES

### 1. Welcome – Jeff Schoonover

Attending - Lisa Preece, Kaesy Barker, Cameron Duckworth, Paige Olsen, Carol May, Jeff Schoonover, Kirk Johnson, Grant Cotterell, Lisa Birkeland, Amber Rawlings, and Melissa Osborne

2. Introduce new members

#### **New Parents:**

Lisa Birkeland Amber Rawlings Melissa Osborne New Staff Members: Cameron Duckworth Paige Olson Carol May

#### **New District Community Council Representative:**

Kara Sherman

- 3. Items from Public
- 4. Nominate and elect Community Council Chairman, Vice-Chairman and Secretary- Grant Cotterell

Motion by Kirk Johnson and second by Mr Duckworth to nominate Lisa Birkeland as chairman. Motion by Kirk Johnson and second by Carol May to nominate Kaesy Barker as vice-chair. Vote was unanimous in favor of both. Kim Conant will remain as secretary.

- 5. Tentative 2016-2017 SCC meeting schedule and focus- Grant Cotterell Highlighted that there is no Feb meeting and May will be a thank you breakfast for council members. Approved the schedule with a unanimous vote.
- 6. Review By-Laws Grant Cotterell

  Lisa Birkeland moved and Kaesy Barker 2nd the motion to approve by-laws vote

Lisa Birketana moved and Kaesy Barker 2nd the motion to approve by-taws - volu unanimous in favor of approving

7. Principal's Update (construction, Respect, Honor Pride) – Jeff Schoonover

Discussion that the #1 priority and responsibility of the community council is the expenditure of the budget. Discussed increased funding by the school for the 8th grade

- completion/graduation and a U Grant that will help fund trackers for after school remdiation.
- 8. 9th Grade Remediation Update Grant Cotterell
- 9. Review Any Updates on Land Trust Spending, 2016-2017 and Land Trust Plan 2015-2016 Grant Cotterell

# 10. Counseling Items

Hope squad is getting going this year. Scheduler is up for 7th grade CCRs.

11. Calendar –Next Community Council Meeting October 7, 2016 at 7:00am

## Adjourn

Motion by Lisa Birkeland, 2nd by Lisa Preece to adjorn - vote unanimous in favor.